Tribute to the March on Washington 1963 Planning Committee

In June 1963, leaders from several different organizations formed the Council for United Civil Rights Leadership, an umbrella group which would coordinate funds and messaging.[27][28] This coalition of leaders, who became known as the “Big Six“, included: A. Philip Randolph, President of The Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, who was chosen as the titular head of the march, James Farmer (president of the Congress of Racial Equality), John Lewis (chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee), Martin Luther King, Jr. (president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference),[6] Roy Wilkins (president of the NAACP),[6] and Whitney Young (president of the National Urban League). Bayard Rustin was also a member of the original planning committee.

 Below you will find a program outlining the schedule of events on that day. Get more information from: August 22, 2013 

Transcript of Official Program for the March on Washington (1963)



1. The National Anthem Led by Marian Anderson.

2. Invocation   The Very Rev. Patrick O’Boyle, Archbishop of Washington.

3. Opening Remarks   A. Philip Randolph, Director March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom.

4. Remarks   Dr. Eugene Carson Blake, Stated Clerk, United Presbyterian Church of the   U.S.A.; Vice Chairman, Commission on Race Relations of the National Council   of Churches of Christ in America.

5. Tribute to Negro Women Fighters for Freedom   Daisy Bates   Diane Nash Bevel   Mrs. Medgar Evers   Mrs. Herbert Lee   Rosa Parks   Gloria Richardson

Mrs. Medgar Evers

6. Remarks   John Lewis, National Chairman, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.

7. Remarks   Walter Reuther, President, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural   Implement Workers of America, AFL-CIO; Chairman, Industrial Union Department,   AFL-CIO.

8. Remarks   James Farmer, National Director, Congress of Racial Equality.

9. Selection   Eva Jessye Choir

10. Prayer   Rabbi Uri Miller, President Synagogue Council of America.

11. Remarks   Whitney M. Young, Jr., Executive Director, National Urban League.

12. Remarks   Matthew Ahmann, Executive Director, National Catholic Conference for Interracial   Justice.

13. Remarks   Roy Wilkins, Executive Secretary, National Association for the Advancement   of Colored People.

14. Selection   Miss Mahalia Jackson

15. Remarks   Rabbi Joachim Prinz, President American Jewish Congress.

16. Remarks   The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., President, Southern Christian Leadership   Conference.

17. The Pledge   A. Philip Randolph

18. Benediction   Dr. Benjamin E. Mays, President, Morehouse College.


 Page URL:
U.S. National Archives & Records Administration             700 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20408 • 1-86-NARA-NARA • 1-866-272-6272


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: